Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
136 results found
Show results 1 - 25
diana mead about  Prym Mini Steam Iron:
May 11, 2014
I have always envied the Elizabethans their goffering irons - and thought how useful a little iron could be. Well I'm pleased to say, it is. There are many times when you want to press a seam or a patch of appliqué and this works well. It has already proved itself to be very useful.

Advantages: It's small size, therefore small footprint. Once you get used to holding it differently it's very effective.

Disadvantages: My Prym iron runs a little hot - which is OK once you know about it, and the steam function is perhaps a little primitive, but it's too useful to matter much.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (13) / No (0)
Jul 9, 2014
Excellent product. Well worth spending the extra money to have the needles last.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (13) / No (1)
Maggie Scholes about  Superior Thread Stand - Cones & Reels:
Sep 30, 2013
This is a wonderful product. I have just machine embroidered a test block for my next silk quilt where only two colours are used. Normal navy embroidery thread and gold metallic. Sewed like a dream. Given there are over 40000 stitches the metallic thread went through like a dream (3 layers, stabiliser, batting and interfaced silk.

Advantages: Easy to set up. Stable on the work surface. Embroidery thread plus metallic thread flow through easily with no breakages.

Disadvantages: Difficult to get out of the packaging but worth it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (11) / No (1)
Dina Newton-Edwards about  Supreme Slider™ :
Oct 29, 2013
The Supreme Slider is your own little piece of magic. It is simple to fit and to remove and makes free motion embroidery and/or quilting very much easier to move and control.

Advantages: Lightweight. The backing that adheres to the plate of the machine is not sticky to the touch so there is no mess. It clings to the plate well but is easy to remove. Takes only a few seconds to put in place and to remove when you have finished.

Disadvantages: The hole for the needle to stitch through is in the centre of the slider, which is not the most convenient place when I use it on my machine.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (11) / No (0)
Oct 6, 2014
A beautiful range of colours in a well made,see through storage box.Excellent value


Advantages: Every spool is a different colour and each shade of the different colours ( e.g. greens) will combine well in a variety of projects.
There is a handy shade card included in the box not only of these threads but of other Madeira threads too.

Disadvantages: The box is hinged but does not have a fastening clasp so will need to be kept upright to prevent threads spilling out and tangling.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (11) / No (0)
Sheila about  Sewline Glue Pen:
Mar 29, 2014
I use a Sewline Glue Pen when doing English paper piecing. Glue the fabric to the perfectly shaped paper/light card template. It pops out easily when required and doesn't ruin the template so perfect to use again. When you sew the template to the fabric, it takes ages when you sew the template to the fabric and ages to remove it, and makes a mess of the template!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (10) / No (1)
Mar 29, 2014
These are brilliant. I bought two and modified them so that I could hanging them on the front of my cupboard doors. I then shaded my threads and it makes it easy to choose the right colour match but also, looks gorgeous.

Advantages: Every space is precious so these make the most use of the room I have and are also lovely once filled with threads

Disadvantages: As a free-standing rack, I wouldn't have found them so useful, but if you have large surface space they'd be great.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (9) / No (0)
Feb 16, 2015
I tried cheaper threads but they frayed and broke. I tried other brand excellent threads but prefer the coverage of Madeira. This box is a great starter set.

Advantages: Thread-breakage is rare. Fraying seems to be eliminated completely. Coverage is great. Sheen is beautiful. Range of colours in this set is a good start.

Disadvantages: It makes you want all the threads, all the colours!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (0)
Feb 27, 2015
I was a bit apprehensive about the clips, but Barnyarns have a great little product here at a really good price. I looked all over for a similar price but could only find the really expensive clips by Clover.

Advantages: Quality is easily as good as others I have bought but they are a lot less money.

Disadvantages: Took a bit longer to come, but they had an offer on.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (0)
Sarah Langmaid about  Quliters Slidelock 24" - Lighted Edge:
Jul 14, 2015
not a cheap item but worth every penny it does what it says and sticks to the Fabric and definitely does not move just hope that they get the 14" one too as I wil definitely be buying that one too

Advantages: Great for anyone whose hands don't have the strength that they used to have and it does make you cutting more accurate a brilliant piece of kit and once you have it it will last a life time as it is well made

Disadvantages: The 24" is a bit long for working next to you sewing Machine on a small cutting Mat this is where the smaller one would come into it's own this is the only disadvantage I can find.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (0)
Mrs. jean andrew about  Thread Box - EMPTY Portable Double Sided:
Jan 27, 2014
This customer purchased the item on our site.
received mine yesterday and delighted will be ordering another next week. please note though this box will NOT hold sulky 1000 meter spools. for these i use artbin boxes. Holds the Madeira 1000 meter spools great.

Advantages: holds securely in place and i have used pre glued paper strips to mark thread number . can be seen easily.

Disadvantages: will not hold guterman sulky 1000 meter spools.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (7) / No (0)
Margaret Lewin about  Superior Thread Stand - Cones & Reels:
Aug 2, 2014
This customer purchased the item on our site.
Love this - works so well - makes metallic thread problem free. Using one with my embroidery.sewing machine - just buying another for use with the second machine I use for quilting.

Advantages: Makes using all thread on anything from a bobbin to cones easy - even problem threads like metallics. Very stable on worktop too.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (7) / No (0)
Sarah Langmaid about  Quliters Slidelock 24" - Lighted Edge:
Jul 25, 2015
I have the larger one which is brilliant now just ordered this smaller one.
Product is a must have if you are a quilter or sewer it does what it say it does definitely no more slipping and dissapointment it works every time

Advantages: No more irregular piece of Fabric so all your pieces are true size

Disadvantages: None that I have found so far
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (7) / No (0)
Feb 11, 2014
This is brilliant for storing all my different threads exactly what i was looking for. The service from Barnyarns was brilliant very quick delivery and when I had a broken box they sent another out the next day. I have already recommended this site and storage box to other people. Many thanks

Advantages: Holds a lot of thread which are easy to access being double sided and not having threads piled on top of each other.

Disadvantages: None that I can see.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (1)
Apr 7, 2014
Wonderful storage. Just what I was looking for to store my Brother threads. So good I've orders another today

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (1)
Dec 23, 2014
This customer purchased the item on our site.
just fantastic, my husband fixed to wall in my sewing room, and now I can see all my embroidery threads at a glance. Am thinking of buying another one when I have found a sensible space on the wall to fix it.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (2)
Jun 4, 2015
These are fantastic clips. Hold the fabric together better than pins.

Advantages: Fabric does not slip. Great idea. Take a look at the bigger blue clips
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Ms. Gillian Woodroffe-Smith about  Hemline - Bobbin Match Mates (H137):
May 9, 2014
I have been using these Bobbin Match Mates for a few years now and find them a great boon when using different coloured threads over a period of time.

Advantages: They keep reels of thread and wound bobbins together for ease of use and save either throwing the thread that is on the spool away, or having to spend precious time searching for the right bobbin.

Disadvantages: The only problem I have found is that after a few years of use, one of the Match Mates has broken, but I still have a couple of dozen in working order!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Oct 3, 2014
I bought one for myself, then ordered a second one for my daughter. Works perfectly every time and I love it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
Oct 6, 2014
The one I've received is pale beige, not blue as illustrated. Seems to hold spools securely and should prevent them unwinding.

Advantages: Good shape... no wasted space as in the one shaped like a doughnut ring.

Disadvantages: Not sure if it can be completely filled with my bobbins as the channels seem to bulge a little when bobbins are put in.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Mar 13, 2015
Had mixed thoughts on this but thought I would give it a go.
I was making satin curtains with satin borders and these little clips worked wonderfully.
I clipped 5 mtrs long satin strips to the main fabric and stitched it without any movement and NO PIN MARKS!!!! Really good little product

Advantages: Will hold fabrics you can't pin together without leaving a mark.... Brilliant for leather, satinand blackout fabrics. Lays flat when at the sewing machine.

Disadvantages: Takes a bit of getting used to clipping and not pinning but worth it
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Mar 14, 2015
Great little clips. They seem very strong, but time will tell. Small enough to attach to seems instead of pins and they just glide through the machine.

Advantages: Small and very strong. Lots of uses outside of the sewing room. Sold in a large quantity at great price.

Disadvantages: Maximum aperture is 1/2 inch. Not big enough for large quilting projects. Maybe a larger size will be available some time. Would definitely purchase.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Apr 27, 2015
I was dubious, but this thread is very fine and absolutely no problem in my machine. I used it for ditching a quilt of varied colours. It did disappear. The odd area where the thread is visible there isa slight sheen but only if you are looking for it. I will definitely use this again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Sep 7, 2015
I'm new to machine embroidery, so bought this pack to get started.

Advantages: Excellent starter pack, good selection of colours. Has allowed me to 'play' with my machine.

Disadvantages: No disadvantages, however, I now want to buy more to extend the range of colours.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Mrs. Anne Parker about  Quliters Slidelock 14" (35cm) - Arctic Ice:
Sep 11, 2015
This customer purchased the item on our site.
I was doubtful about this tool - especially given the price in Uk - but eventually decided to buy the 14in one, which just happens to be the same size as my favourite ruler (14in by 4in).

I've tried it out on various things including cutting through 9 layers of cotton to make bag straps from several different patterned fabrics - it worked wonderfully especially given I have athritis and have difficulty holding a ruler still - I only had to press down lightly with any part of my left hand to cut strips with the cutter in my right. I even just tried using my wrist rather than my hand or fingers and that worked too!
I can't rate this tool highly enough - I still want to try it out using it to actually hold down rulers on the fabric, but in any case it works wonderfully the way it is meant too so I'm pleased I decided to spend my money on it.

Advantages: Very little pressure needed.
You can use any part of your body to push it down and hold it, and the fabric, in place - wrist, 2 fingers, thumb, side of your hand, heel of your hand, whatever is more comfortable for you.
Enables straight cutting through at least 9 layers of cotton fabric
Avoids those curves in fabric cuts that sometimes happen

Disadvantages: It's expensive for what it is - but it works
You need to use your ruler as well as the slidelock - would have been good to have ruler markings on the slidelock itself - maybe that will happen in the future
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)

 
 
 
The cookie settings on this website are adjusted to allow all cookies so that you have the very best experience. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, if you would like to, you can change your settings at any time using the Change cookie settings link in the Special menu.